How to Optimize Your StockMarketEye Data Files

StockMarketEye stores your investment data (watchlists, portfolios, transactions, alerts) as well as settings, preferences and properties in a database on your computer. We refer to this database as your StockMarketEye data files.  Have a look at this page to see where the StockMarketEye data files are located on your computer.

Why Do I Need To Optimize My Data Files?

When you delete something from StockMarketEye, such as removing an item from a watchlist, that item is not actually removed from your data files. The item is only marked as deleted. It will no longer be displayed and you can not interact with it in any way - just as if it was actually removed from the data files.

The data is only marked as deleted, rather than actually removed, in order to support syncing between different computers and devices with our on-line sync service. If you delete an item on one computer, by marking the item as deleted, StockMarketEye will still remember to tell any computers you sync with that the item has been deleted too.

Over time, the data marked as deleted will grow and increase the size of your StockMarketEye data files. This can lead to issues with the on-line sync as the data sent during the sync process may be too large for the device to handle. The extra data will also increase the size of your backup files.

By letting StockMarketEye optimize your data files, the size of your data files and backup files will decrease, the on-line sync will be faster and StockMarketEye in general will run faster.

What Are The Downsides of the Optimization?

After the optimization is complete and if you use the on-line sync at all, it is important that you run the Upload sync from the computer on which you did the optimization. Then on your other computers and devices, you must run the Download sync.  After that, the optimized data will have been propagated to all your devices and you can continue to use StockMarketEye as you normally do.

How Do I Run The Optimization?

  1. Open the Preferences window and click on the "Advanced" tab.
  2. Click on the "Optimize Data" button to start the optimization process.
  3. When the optimization process has completed, be sure to run the Upload/Download sync as explained in the link.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us